Oonops Drops – Vol.1 (CD-Version)

»Oonops Drops« is the eponymous name of DJ Oonops‘ monthly broadcast on Brooklyn Radio (NYC). It’s your not average radio show without talk and comments for which he invites renowned guests with their exclusive mixes from around the globe to create timeless and thematic episodes. In the last sixty shows he got visited by artists like Morcheeba, Guts, Nickodemus, The Herbaliser, Nostalgia 77, Boca 45, Blundetto, Chinese Man and many more.

Born in 1977 he got in contact with music at an early stage and soon discovered his medium of choice: vinyl. Oonops is a DJ, selector, digger and is known for his smooth mixing skills to rock parties in his unmistakable wildstyle of jazz, soul, funk, hip hop, beats, edits, reggae, dub and afro. He shared the stages with acts like Nightmares on Wax, The Beatnuts, Jeru The Damaja, Ebo Taylor, Myron & E, Akua Naru and The Artifacts to name just a few.

As a longtime friend of the label and as a resident of its own club night he now gets his own compilation series to showcase his manifold taste in digging, selecting and mixing. His matter was to create a compilation of manifold genres of undiscovered, previously unreleased and for the first time on vinyl delicacies for any avid and discernable listener and dj. Especially for the vinyl lovers he dug many tracks which are treats for every set from warm-up until peak time. This compilation will stay for a long time in the bags.

For the cover he joined forces with San Francisco based oil paintress Lindsey Kustusch who cherishes the mood of this work and its spirit. Enjoy this musical trip from dub, soul, funk, instrumentals, hip hop and jazz!



01. Prince Fatty Meets Nostalgia 77 – Little Steps Dub 04:27
02. Figub Brazlevic – Shadows In The City 04:01
03. Guts – Score featuring Tanya Morgan & Lorine Chia 03:07
04. Mankoora – Sonór Tropicàl 04:39
05. Green Street – Don’t Deny It 04:47
06. Suff Daddy – Paper-Proclamation (Pat Van Dyke Remix 03:31
07. DJ Cam Quartet – Mental Invasion 05:15
08. Cro-Magnon – Mysterious Vibes 04:35
09. Nautilus – Root Down feat. Fleur Earth 04:27
10. Shawn Lee – We Got The Jazz featuring Ohmega Watts 03:03
11. ShinSight Trio – You Got
Soul 04:51
12. Indigo Jam Unit – Sepia 05:25
13. Slakah The Beatchild – Ain’t Nothing Like Hip Hop 01:21

Pre-Listen all tracks here: djoonops.bandcamp.com/album/oonops-drops-vol-1